Weather Alert
Alton, IL

Seven Elected To NFL Hall of Fame

The Pro Football Hall of Fame will welcome seven new members to Canton later this year. The 2013 class is highlighted by offensive linemen Jonathan Ogden and Larry Allen.  Ogden played for the Baltimore Ravens from 1996-2007 and helped the franchise win Super Bowl XXXV. Allen played for the Dallas Cowboys and San Francisco 49ers, winning a Super Bowl with the 'Boys in 1995.  Former Eagles and Vikings wide receiver Cris Carter is also among the inductees.  Carter was an eight-time Pro Bowler who caught nearly 14-thousand passes and 130 touchdowns.  Warren Sapp is also headed to Canton.  The former Buccaneers and Raiders defensive tackle was a seven-time Pro Bowler who had 96-and-a-half sacks in his career.  Former Patriots, Giants, Jets and Cowboys head coach Bill Parcells was also inducted.  Parcells led the Giants to a pair of Super Bowl wins and won nearly 57-percent of his regular season games.

The two senior committee nominees were also inducted.  Curley Culp was a defensive lineman that played for the Kansas City Chiefs, Houston Oilers and Detroit Lions from 1968 through 1981.  Dave Robinson was a linebacker and kicker for the Green Bay Packers and Washington Redskins from 1963 through 1974. 

Keyword Search

This site was created by
Copyright © 2016 Alton Daily News ยท WBGZ 1570 AM
227 Market St., Alton IL 62002 Phone: (618) 465-3535
EEO Report | Privacy Policy